Steve Irons MP Federal Member for Swan

About Swan

The electorate of Swan takes its name from the famous river that forms one of its boundaries. Situated east of Perth, Swan has many landmarks, institutes and buildings, which all add to its character and give residents plenty of choice in terms of education, entertainment, lifestyle and family recreation.

Swan encompasses both Belmont and Ascot racecourses, Perth Zoo, Cannington Greyhounds, the state tennis centre, three golf courses, Perth Football Club and Burswood Casino – as well as Perth’s domestic and international airports. In terms of education, we have Curtin University, Clontarf Aboriginal College, a TAFE college, three Islamic Schools, and more than 50 primary and secondary schools. There are also a great many more clubs and associations proudly operating within our local community.

Another popular waterway, the Canning River, traverses the Southern side of the electorate, which encompasses a variety of industries, small business and professional offices. Swan has around 21,000 businesses, far more than any other electorate in WA, and includes the intrastate and interstate freight and transport terminals, both road and rail.

Many of the world’s ethnic groups are represented in Swan – with Asian, Middle Eastern, European and Indigenous Australians all residing within its borders. The issues in Swan are just as broad, with crime and antisocial behaviour, road infrastructure, health care, aged care, mental health, and the protection of our unique waterways and natural environment being the major concerns that figure prominently across the electorate.

Suburbs in the Swan electorate include: Ascot, Belmont, Bentley, Burswood, Cannington, Carlisle, Cloverdale, Como, East Cannington, East Victoria Park, High Wycombe, Karawara, Kensington, Kewdale,  Lathlain, Manning, Perth Airport, Queens Park, Redcliffe, Rivervale, Salter Point, St James, South Perth, Victoria Park, Waterford, Welshpool and Wilson.

Sir John Forrest Lib/Nationalist 1901-18 died
Edwin Corboy ALP 1918-19 defeated, MLA 1921-33
John Prowse Country Party 1919-22 elected for new Forrest seat
Harry Gregory Country Party 1922-40 died
Thomas Marwick Country Party/Ind 1940-43 defeated
Donald Mountjoy ALP 1943-46 defeated
Leonard Hamilton Country Party 1946-49 elected for new Canning seat
Bill Grayden Liberal 1949-54 defeated, MLA 1956-93
Harry Webb ALP 1954-55 elected for new Stirling seat
Richard Cleaver Liberal 1955-69 defeated
Adrian Bennett ALP 1969-75 defeated
John Martyr Liberal 1975-80 defeated, Senator 1981-83
Kim Beazley ALP 1980-96 elected for Brand
Don Randall Liberal 1996-98 defeated, MP Canning 2001-2015
Kim Wilkie ALP 1998-2007 defeated
Steve Irons Liberal 2007- Currently in office

Contact Steve

Send Steve an Email

08 9355 0099 (Office)

08 9355 0199 (Fax)